Banner Viadrina

Non-participation at exams due to sickness

Due to the current corona situation, the responsible examination boards of the faculty, in coordination with the university leadership, have decided to set the withdrawal deadlines in the HIS-Portal / viaCampus to one day before the examination date, so that students registered for an examination have the opportunity to withdraw from the examination independently via the system until 23:59 pm one day before the examination without further requests or notification.

After the fixed withdrawal deadlines have expired, withdrawal is only possible with good reason after written explanation (see application form for withdrawal) to the examination board. Currently, this declaration of withdrawal is also possible informally. In consideration of the current risk situation posed by the corona virus, an informal declaration of withdrawal by the students will be recognised as a valid reason even after the withdrawal period has expired if students registered for an examination report symptoms of illness (without the need to present a health insurance certificate) or concern about infection (or comparable reasons), for example. In these cases, withdrawal from the examination is without sanction and is also recognised as withdrawal by the responsible examination board after the fixed deadline has expired and is recorded accordingly in the system. Otherwise, the missed examination will be considered a failed attempt. The informal declaration of withdrawal after the cancellation deadline should be sent immediately by email to exam-wiwi@europa-uni.de.

General Principles

Students are obligated to hand in a medical certificate with the responsible examination board (not the examination office) by mail or in person immediately after the decision not to participate. Otherwise the missed exam is counted as pass fail.

Procedure for students of the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics

The non-participation of an exam requires a filled-in form (available on this website). Incomplete forms will not be processed.

Please note that a certificate proving the inability to write the thesis or non-participation at exams needs to be attached to the application form. Further information about this attachment can be found in the next paragraph.

Hint: Students of the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Cultural Science, please check with the authorities responsible for them examination board with respect to the procedure for withdrawal from the examination.

Certificate about the inability to participate at an exam

Within the framework of the obligation to co-operate with the examining doctor, the student needs the doctor to make statements about the diagnosis as indicated in point 3. Without those statements, the application for extra time to work on the thesis cannot be accepted.

  1. Within the framework of students’ obligation to co-operate, students are bound to fully disclose their health troubles in order to confirm their inability to write the thesis and, if necessary, absolve the doctor from doctor-patient confidentiality.
  2. A publication of the diagnosis is not required.
  3. Physical as well as psychological effects of the sickness have to be disclosed. A general medical certificate about the inability of participating in an examination and/or incapacity to work is insufficient. (Please note: fluctuations in one’s daily performance, fear of examination, stress or any similar concerns do not represent an impairment of one’s performance and ability to be examined according to the study regulation.)

In order to proof the student’s inability to write the thesis or non-participation at exams, you may use the sample form. However, the medical certification may also be informal, as long as it includes the following information:

  • name
  • symptoms / type of performance decrease
  • length of the sickness

Medical certifications in foreign languages need to be officially translated.

If the examination board has any doubts as to the validity of the medical certificate, they may request a submission of a medical certification by a public health officer (amtsärztliches Attest, sample form).Notes about medical certification by a public health officer in Frankfurt (Oder).

If the student is hindered in his working process due to the sickness of his/her child and the child’s supervision becomes necessary, documentation will be the same as mentioned above. The examination board approves the certificate of the student’s inability to write the thesis, if the sickness of the child can be proved by a certificate of illness. If applicable, the student needs to prove that he/she took all possible measures in order to take care for the child, but that those measures taken did not lead to any success.

Banner Viadrina

Nicht-Teilnahme an einer Prüfung wegen Krankheit

Aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Situation haben die zuständigen Prüfungsausschüsse der Fakultät in Abstimmung mit der Hochschulleitung festgelegt, die Rücktrittsfristen im HIS-Portal/viaCampus auf einen Tag vor dem Prüfungstermin festzusetzen, sodass die zu einer Prüfung angemeldeten Studierenden die Möglichkeit haben, sich bis einen Tag vor der Prüfung 23:59 Uhr über das System ohne weitere Anträge oder Benachrichtigungen selbstständig von der Prüfung abzumelden.

Nach Ablauf der festgesetzten Rücktrittsfristen ist ein Rücktritt nur mit triftigem Grund nach schriftlicher Erklärung (siehe Antragsformular zum Prüfungsrücktritt) beim Prüfungsausschuss möglich. Aktuell ist diese Rücktrittserklärung auch formlos möglich. Unter Würdigung der aktuellen Gefährdungslage durch das Coronavirus wird bei formloser Rücktrittserklärung durch die Studierenden auch nach abgelaufener Rücktrittsfrist als triftiger Grund anerkannt, wenn zu einer Prüfung angemeldete Studierende beispielsweise Krankheitssymptome (ohne Erfordernis der Vorlage eines Krankenscheins) oder Sorge einer Ansteckung (oder vergleichbare Gründe) anmelden. In diesen Fällen erfolgt der Rücktritt von der Prüfung sanktionslos und wird auch nach Ablauf der festgesetzten Frist als Rücktritt durch den zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss anerkannt und entsprechend im System vermerkt. Andernfalls gilt die versäumte Prüfung als Fehlversuch. Die formlose Rücktrittserklärung nach der Abmeldefrist soll unverzüglich per E-Mail an exam-wiwi@europa-uni.de erfolgen.

Allgemeiner Grundsatz

Die Studierenden haben die Verpflichtung unverzüglich nach einer Nicht-Teilnahme an einer Prüfung wegen Krankheit, die Prüfungsunfähigkeit durch die Vorlage eines Attests beim zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss (nicht beim Prüfungsamt) postalisch oder persönlich zu belegen. Anderenfalls gilt die versäumte Prüfung als Fehlversuch.

Verfahrensweise für Studierende an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Der Antrag auf Anerkennung des Rücktritts von einer Prüfung muss schriftlich, unter Verwendung des bereit gestellten Formulars erfolgen. Unvollständige und unvollständig ausgefüllte Anträge werden nicht bearbeitet!

Bitte beachten Sie, dass dem Antrag eine entsprechende Bescheinigung der Prüfungsunfähigkeit beigefügt werden muss! Hinweise zum Nachweis der Prüfungsunfähigkeit können Sie dem nachfolgenden Abschnitt entnehmen.

Hinweis: Studierende der Juristischen Fakultät und der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät erkundigen sich bitte bei dem für sie zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss bezüglich der Verfahrensweise zum Rücktritt von der Prüfung.

Nachweis der Prüfungsunfähigkeit

Der Studierende muss im Rahmen der Mitwirkungspflicht vom konsultierten Arzt Angaben im Sinne von Punkt 3 erwirken. Ohne diese Angaben wird eine Antrag auf Rücktritt von der Prüfung nicht zur Entscheidung angenommen.

  1. Studierende sind aufgrund ihrer Mitwirkungspflicht grundsätzlich verpflichtet, zur Feststellung der Prüfungsunfähigkeit ihre Beschwerden offen zu legen und hierzu erforderlichenfalls den behandelnden Arzt von seiner ärztlichen Schweigepflicht zu entbinden.
  2. Eine Bekanntgabe der Diagnose muss nicht erfolgen.
  3. Die durch die Krankheit hervorgerufenen körperlichen bzw. psychischen Auswirkungen sind anzugeben. Eine generelle Attestierung von Prüfungsunfähigkeit und/oder Arbeitsunfähigkeit ist unzureichend. (Hinweis: Schwankungen in der Tagesform, Examensangst, Prüfungsstress oder Ähnliches stellen im Sinne der Prüfungsunfähigkeit keine erheblichen Beeinträchtigungen des Leistungsvermögens.)

Für die Bescheinigung der Prüfungsunfähigkeit können Sie sich des Musterformulars bedienen. Das Attest kann auch formlos ausgestellt werden, sowie es die folgenden Punkte enthält.

  • Name
  • Krankheitssymptome / Art der Leistungsminderung
  • Dauer der Krankheit

Fremdsprachige Atteste bedürfen einer amtlichen Übersetzung.

Bei Zweifeln des Prüfungsausschusses am Attest, kann der Prüfungsausschuss die Vorlage eines amtsärztliches Attests (Musterformular) verlangen. Hinweise zur amtsärztlichen Untersuchung finden sich u.a. auf der Internetseite des Amts- und Vertrauensärztlichen Dienstes der Stadt Frankfurt (Oder).

Versäumt der Studierende eine Prüfung, z. B. wegen der Erkrankung des Kindes und ist deshalb eine Betreuung des Kindes erforderlich, muss dies gleichfalls dokumentiert werden. Der Prüfungsausschuss sieht in diesem Fall grundsätzlich den Nachweis als erbracht, wenn die Erkrankung des Kindes mittels Krankenschein dokumentiert wird. Gegebenfalls hat der Prüfling nachzuweisen, dass er alle Anstrengungen zu anderweitiger Betreuung unternommen hat, diese aber ohne Erfolg geblieben sind.