Banner Viadrina

Curriculum Vitae

Akademischer Werdegang



Mathematics degree at the University of Ulm 1977-1982


Doctorate at the University of Ulm, Dr. rer. nat. in 1984. Dissertation title: “Localization of Outliers in Autoregressive Processes”


Habilitation in 1991.
Title of habilitation dissertation: “Outlier Tests and Outlier Identification in Time Series”
Venia legendi for the subject mathematics


Akademische Positionen


2013, 2014, 2015 Visiting professor at the University of Bergamo, Italy
1999-2000, 2007-2009 Spokesperson of the Post-Graduate Program “Capital Markets and Financial Economy in Extended Europe”
since 1996 Chair of the Dissertation Committee of the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics
1995-1999, since 2011 Chair of the Scholarship Award Commission of the European University Viadrina
since Okt. 1995 Professor of Statistics at the European University, Frankfurt (Oder)
SoSe 1995 Professor (substitute) at the European University, Frankfurt (Oder)
WS 1994/95 Professor (substitute) at the University of Stuttgart
WS 1993/94 Lecturer at the University of Constance
WS 1991/92 Professor (substitute) at the University of Trier
1984-1995 Scientific Associate at the University of Ulm


Current areas of research


  • Statistical analysis of financial markets

  • Statistical process controlling

  • Statistical analysis of environmental processes


Publications/Conferences/Stays abroad


  • Author of more than 100 publications in international journals

  • 14 invitations to speak at various conferences since 2005

  • Several research fellowships, e.g. in Gothenburg (2003, 2004, 2005) and Lisbon (2002, 2005, 2009, 2014)

  • Chair of the program committee of six international conventions (number of participants between 500-700) and three workshops since 2010 and several sections 

  • Proposer of six approved German Research Foundation projects since 2004

  • Primary supervisor for 21 dissertations, Young Scientists’ Prize of the Federal State of Brandenburg 2008 awarded to two of his PhD students (with a prize of EUR 20,000), nine of the PhD students are now professors

  • Since 2012 Chair of the German Statistical Society (DStatG)

  • From 2009-2013 Chair of the Working Group “Stochastic Models for Reliability, Quality and Safety”

  • From 2008-2012 Member of the Board of the German Statistical Society

  • Since 2005 Member of the Editorial Committee of the journal AstA – Advances in Statistical Science

  • Elected Member of the International Statistical Institute

  • From 1998-2002 Chairman of the “Statistics in Natural Science and Technology” committee of the DStatG