Banner Viadrina

Regular study period, mandatory student advisory service, allowance for disadvantages, equality of opportunity

Standard period of study

The period of study is restricted. The duration is described in the regluations of the study program. The period of study for degree programs leading to a bachelor’s degree is six semesters and comprises 180 ECTS credits. The period of study for consecutive master’s degree programs is four semesters and comprises 120 ECTS credits.

Mandatory student advisory service and timeframes

Pursuant to §§ 21 (2) sentence 2 and 20 (3) sentence 1 BbgHG, it is mandatory for students to seek advice if they have not passed successfully the Bachelor's examination within ten semesters or if they have not passed the Master's examination within eight semesters. An exception is made if failure to keep to an examination timeframe is not the fault of the student.

The student shall be summoned in writing to the mandatory student advisory service at the beginning of the semester following the expired timeframe (Bachelor: at the beginning of the elventh semester; Master: at the beginning of the ninth semester). The mandatory student advisory service is provided by the chairperson of the examination board. The mandatory student advisory service is always provided in the form of a personal interview. After receipt of the written invitation to the consultation, the interview usually takes place within four weeks.

The purpose of mandatory student advisory service is to conclude a curriculum agreement that takes into proper consideration the personal situation of the student.

In the case of non-compliance with the completed study agreement for good reasons, proof of the good reason must be provided to the chairperson of the examination board immediately after becoming known and in written form. In the case of illness as a valid reason, this must be proven by an official medical certificate by a public health officer. Applications must be made in writing and accompanied by appropriate evidence to take account of other valid reasons. The examination board decides whether there are valid reasons for an adjustment of the agreement on the course of studies and, if a valid reason is acknowledged, adjusts it together with the students concerned without delay. If there are no valid reasons, the provisions of § 6 Paragraph 7 Sentence 1 ASPO of 27 January 2016, as amended, shall apply.

If a student refuses to conclude a curriculum agreement, or fails to conclude such an agreement within the timeframe, or if the student has not obtained the ECTS credits even after expiry of a deadline specified in the curriculum agreement for the successful completion of the study or has failed to provide to the examination office documentary proof (i.e. in the form of ECTS credits), the student shall be de-registered pursuant to § 14 (5) sentence 2 number 2 BbgHG. Again, this shall not apply if failure to meet the deadline is not the fault of the student.

Allowance for disadvantages and equality of opportunity

In particular cases of hardship (such as long periods of illness) the relevant examination board may exempt students from the time limits specified in Article 7 (1) upon submission of a written request and grant an extension. The written request must be submitted without delay when the relevant circumstances arise and must be supported by the relevant documentation, in case of illness by a medical certificate. The relevant examination board may also require the student to submit a medical certificate issued by a public health officer (“Amtsarzt”). Further information provides the website of the public health officer in Frankfurt (Oder).

Support for students who take the statutory maternity leave, who are on parental leave, who care for children beyond the period of parental leave provided for by law and/or who care for relatives is provided by taking account of the individual needs of such students in respect of the required coursework and examinations. The relevant examination board will decide on the specific form of the allowance for disadvantages upon submission of the relevant documentation as evidence of the particular circumstances. Students shall notify the examination board of any changes in their circumstances without delay.

An attempt will be made to cater individually for the specific needs of students with disabilities or chronic illnesses when planning study schedules, coursework and examinations. If a student submits a medical certificate as evidence that he or she is unable to take the examinations either completely or partially in the intended form owing to a long period of physical disability or a permanent physical disability or chronic illness the relevant examination board may permit the student to take an equivalent examination in a different form. The same applies to coursework. The relevant examination board may also require the student to submit a medical certificate issued by a public health officer (“Amtsarzt”). Students shall notify the examination board of any changes in their circumstances without delay.

Required Documents

  1. Application form
  • International Business Administration (Bachelor): SSO 2017
  • Internationale Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Bachelor): SSO 2017
  • International Business Administration (Master): SSO 2017
  1. Documents for relevant circumstances,
    e. g. medical certificate

Banner Viadrina

Regelstudienzeit, verpflichtende Studienfachberatung, Nachteilsausgleich, Chancengleichheit

Regelstudienzeit

Das Studium sollte grundsätzlich innerhalb der Regelstudienzeit abgeschlossen werden. Die Regelstudienzeit ist in den jeweiligen Ordnungen der Studienprogramme der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät in der verankert und beträgt bei Studiengängen, die zu einem Bachelorgrad führen, sechs Fachsemester mit einem Studienumfang von 180 ECTS-Credits. Bei konsekutiven Masterstudiengängen, beträgt die Regelstudienzeit vier Fachsemester mit einem Studienumfang von 120 ECTS-Credits.

Verpflichtenden Studienfachberatung und weitere Fristen

Die Teilnahme an der Studienfachberatung nach § 6 i.V.m. § 3 Absatz 3 ASPO vom 27.01.2016 in der jeweils geltenden Fassung ist gemäß §§ 21 Absatz 2 Satz 2 und 20 Absatz 3 Satz 1 BbgHG für Studierende verpflichtend, wenn sie die Bachelorprüfung nicht innerhalb von zehn Fachsemestern erfolgreich abgelegt haben bzw. wenn sie die Masterprüfung nicht innerhalb von acht Fachsemestern erfolgreich abgelegt haben. Hiervon ausgenommen ist der Fall, wonach die Überschreitung einer Prüfungsfrist von ihnen nicht zu vertreten ist.

Der oder die Studierende wird zu Beginn des auf das Fristende folgenden Semesters (Bachelor: zu Beginn des elften Fachsemesters; Master: zu Beginn des neunten Fachsemesters) schriftlich zur verpflichtenden Studienfachberatung eingeladen. Die verpflichtende Studienfachberatung wird von dem oder der Vorsitzenden des zuständigen Prüfungsausschusses durchgeführt. Die verpflichtende Studienfachberatung findet grundsätzlich in Form eines persönlichen Einzelgesprächs statt. Nach Zugang der schriftlichen Einladung zum Beratungsgespräch, findet das Gespräch in der Regel innerhalb von vier Wochen statt.

Ziel der verpflichtenden Studienfachberatung ist der Abschluss einer Studienverlaufsvereinbarung unter angemessener Berücksichtigung der persönlichen Situation des oder der Studierenden.

Im Falle der Nichteinhaltung der abgeschlossenen Studienverlaufsvereinbarung aus triftigem Grund, ist der Nachweis des triftigen Grundes unmittelbar nach Bekanntwerden und in schriftlicher Form an den Vorsitzenden oder die Vorsitzende des zuständigen Prüfungsausschusses zu erbringen. Im Falle von Krankheit als triftigem Grund ist diese mit amtsärztlichem Attest nachzuweisen. Die Berücksichtigung sonstiger triftiger Gründe muss schriftlich und unter Vorlage entsprechender Nachweise beantragt werden. Der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss entscheidet, ob triftige Gründe vorliegen, die eine Anpassung der Studienverlaufsvereinbarung rechtfertigen und passt diese bei Anerkennung eines triftigen Grundes gemeinsam unverzüglich mit dem bzw. der betreffenden Studierenden an. Liegen keine triftigen Gründe vor, gelten die Regelungen des § 6 Absatz 7 Satz 1 ASPO vom 27.01.2016 in der jeweils geltenden Fassung.

Lehnen die Studierenden den Abschluss einer Studienverlaufsvereinbarung ab, schließen sie eine solche nicht innerhalb der vorgegebenen Frist ab oder haben die Studierenden auch nach Ablauf einer in der Studienverlaufsvereinbarung festgelegten Frist nicht die für die erfolgreiche Beendigung des Studiums vorgesehenen ECTS-Credits erworben und gegenüber dem Prüfungsamt nachgewiesen, so werden sie gemäß § 14 Absatz 5 Satz 2 Nr. 2 BbgHG exmatrikuliert. Dies gilt nicht, wenn die Überschreitung der Frist von den Studierenden nicht zu vertreten ist.

Nachteilsausgleich und Chancengleichheit

In besonderen Härtefällen (z. B. längere Krankheit) kann der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss auf schriftlichen Antrag hin eine Ausnahme von den in § 6 Absatz 1 ASPO vom 27.01.2016 in der jeweils geltenden Fassung genannten Fristen gewähren und eine weitergehende Fristverlängerung aussprechen. Der Antrag ist unverzüglich bei Vorliegen der Gründe unter Einreichen entsprechender Unterlagen zur Glaubhaftmachung zu stellen; im Fall von Krankheit durch eine entsprechende Bescheinigung der Prüfungsunfähigkeit. Der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss kann darüber hinaus die Vorlage eines amtsärztlichen Attestes verlangen. Hinweise zur amtsärztlichen Untersuchung finden sich u.a. auf der Internetseite des Amts- und Vertrauensärztlichen Dienstes der Stadt Frankfurt (Oder).

Studierende, die die gesetzlichen Schutzfristen des Mutterschutzgesetzes in Anspruch nehmen beziehungsweise sich in Elternzeit befinden beziehungsweise Kinder außerhalb der gesetzlich geregelten Elternzeit und/oder nahe Angehörige betreuen oder pflegen, werden unterstützt, indem ihrem individuellen Bedarf bei der Erbringung von Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen Rechnung getragen wird. Der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss entscheidet über die konkrete Form des Nachteilsausgleiches, sobald die besondere Situation glaubhaft gemacht wurde. Der oder die Studierende ist verpflichtet, Änderungen in den Voraussetzungen unverzüglich mitzuteilen. Für Studierende mit Familienaufgaben wurde zum besseren Verständnis des Nachteilsausgleiches eine Handreichung entwickelt, die Beispiele für die konkrete Auslegung der rechtlichen Formulierung nennt.

Bei der Gestaltung des Studienablaufs sowie bei der Erbringung von Leistungsnachweisen wird versucht, den spezifischen Belangen von Studierenden mit Behinderung und chronischen Erkrankungen im Einzelfall Rechnung zu tragen. Belegt der oder die Studierende durch ein ärztliches Attest, dass er oder sie wegen länger andauernder oder ständiger körperlicher Behinderung oder einer chronischen Erkrankung nicht in der Lage ist, die Prüfungen ganz oder teilweise in der vorgesehenen Form abzulegen, kann der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss dem oder der Studierenden gestatten, gleichwertige Prüfungsleistungen in einer anderen Form zu erbringen. Entsprechendes gilt für die anderen Studienleistungen. Der zuständige Prüfungsausschuss kann darüber hinaus die Vorlage eines amtsärztlichen Attestes verlangen. Der oder die Studierende ist verpflichtet, Änderungen in den Voraussetzungen unverzüglich mitzuteilen.

Einzureichende Unterlagen

  1. Antragsformular
  • International Business Administration (Bachelor): SSO 2017
  • Internationale Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Bachelor): SSO 2017
  • International Business Administration (Master): SSO 2017
  1. Belege für die im Antrag benannten Gründe,
    z. B. Bescheinigung der Prüfungsunfähigkeit