Banner Viadrina

Approval of foreign study credits

Policy for the recognition of foreign studies and examinations in the Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programs of the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics of the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

(according to the applicable subject-specific regulations (Fachspezifische Ordnungen, FSO))

The semester abroad carries the basic idea of an internationally oriented university experience as well as and internationally oriented course of study. Students will get an overview of the content and organization of the education at the partner university abroad. Through this experience language skills shall be perfected and cultural differences shall be experienced.

The organization and implementation of the study-oriented stay abroad is the responsibility of the students. The Department of International Affairs offers help, advice, and support within its possibilities/abilities.

In general, the partner universities require the successful completion of at least three semesters prior to study abroad. Therefore, in the undergraduate study program the business and economic basic studies should be completed. However the lack of completion of individual courses from the business and economic basic studies does not exclude the student from participation in study abroad in principal.

In 2013 subject-specific guidelines (FSO) for the study programs of International Business Administration (Bachelor) and Internationale Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Bachelor) of the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics of the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) came into effect, making a stay abroad of at least 3 months mandatory. The semester abroad is considered to be successfully completed if, during the stay abroad, at least 12 eligible ETCS credits are completed and verified. (See § 7 para. 8 of the subject-specific guidelines (FSO).)

Principles of recognition

  • The recognition of foreign studies and examinations will be decided on by the relevant Examination Board of the Faculty. The Department of International Affairs of the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) prepares the recognition for the courses.

  • The recognition of studies and credits directly by the corresponding professor is not possible, there are no exceptions.

  • Generally 30 ETCS credits can be acquired per semester at the foreign university during the stay abroad. These credits will be recognized upon application, provided that they are not significantly different. (See § 12 para. 2 of the General Course and Examination Regulations (Allgemeinen Studien- und Prüfungsordnung).)

  • Please note in this context, the admission requirements for thesis registration as defined by the professors.

  • Studies and credits will only be recognized if, during the stay abroad, the student is not on leave from the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder).

  • Study abroad cannot be replaced by an internship abroad.

  • The module of "English (level C1 CEFR) or second foreign language (level B2 CEFR)" for the study program Internationale Betriebs­wirt­schaftslehre (Bachelor) is considered to be completed successfully if, during study abroad courses amounting to at least 18 credits are completed in the corresponding foreign language and verified.

  • The module of "foreign language (level B2 CEFR)" for the study program International Business Administration (Bachelor) is considered to be completed successfully if, during the stay abroad courses amounting to at least 18 credits are completed in the corresponding foreign language and verified.

  • In the case of double and multiple degree agreements different rules may apply with regard to recognition.

Procedure

Students should arrange the courses that they wish to take at a foreign university with the Department of International Affairs and the relevant Examination Board prior to the stay abroad in order to confirm the possibility of recognition.

Consultation is necessary for any changes with regard to the selected courses during the stay abroad.

After the stay abroad an application for the recognition of credits is to be filed with the Department of International Affairs.

More information about the procedure (opening hours, forms, etc.) ...

Banner Viadrina

Anerkennung ausländischer Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen

Richtlinie für die Anerkennung ausländischer Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen in den Bachelor- und konsekutiven Master­studien­gängen der Wirt­schafts­wissen­schaft­lichen Fakultät an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder)

(entsprechend der geltenden Fachspezifischen Ordnungen)

Das Auslands­semester trägt dem Grundgedanken einer international ausgerichteten Hochschule ebenso wie international orientierten Studien­gängen Rechnung. Den Studierenden soll ein Überblick über die inhaltliche und organisatorische Ausbildung an der ausländischen Partner­hochschule vermittelt werden. Dazu sollen die fremd­sprachlichen Kenntnisse vervollkommnet und kulturelle Besonderheiten vermittelt werden.

Die Organisation und Durchführung der studien­orientierten Auslands­aufenthalte liegt in der Verantwortung der Studierenden. Die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten gibt im Rahmen ihrer Möglichkeiten Hilfe, Rat und Unterstützung.

In der Regel fordern die Partnerhochschulen den erfolgreichen Ab­schluss von mindestens drei Semestern vor dem Auslandsstudium. In den Bachelor­studien­gängen sollte somit die Wirt­schafts­wissen­schaft­liche Grund­lagen­aus­bildung abgeschlossen sein. Der fehlende Nach­weis einzelner Module aus der Wirt­schafts­wissen­schaft­lichen Grund­lagen­aus­bildung schließt die Teilnahme am Auslands­studium aber grundsätzlich nicht aus.

Die 2013 in Kraft getretenen Fachspezifischen Ordnungen sowie die 2017 in Kraft getretenen Studiengangsspezifischen Ordnungen der Studiengänge International Business Administration (Bachelor) sowie Internationale Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Bachelor) an der Wirt­schafts­wissen­schaft­lichen Fakultät der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) sehen einen verpflichtenden Auslandsaufenthalt von mindestens 3 Monaten vor. Das Auslands­studium gilt als bestanden, wenn während des Studien­aufenthalts mindestens 12 anrechenbare ECTS-Credits erbracht und nachgewiesen werden.

Grundsätze der Anerkennung

  • Die Anerkennung der ausländischen Studien- und Prüfungs­leistungen obliegt dem zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss der Fakultät. Die Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) bereitet die Anerkennung für die Studiengänge vor.

  • Eine Anerkennung von Studien- und Prüfungs­leistungen direkt bei den entsprechenden Professorinnen und Professoren ist ohne Ausnahme nicht möglich!

  • Grundsätzlich können während des Auslands­aufenthalts pro Semester 30 ECTS-Credits an der ausländischen Hochschule erworben werden. Diese Leistungen werden auf Antrag anerkannt, sofern sie sich nicht wesentlich unterscheiden.

  • Bitte beachten Sie in diesem Zusammenhang, die von den Professorinnen und Professoren definierten Zugangsvoraussetzungen für die Anmeldung zur Abschlussarbeit.

  • Eine Anerkennung der Studien- und Prüfungs­leistungen kann nur erfolgen, wenn die oder der Studierende während des Auslands­aufenthalts an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) nicht beurlaubt ist.

  • Der Studienaufenthalt im Ausland kann nicht durch ein Auslands­praktikum ersetzt werden.

  • Der Nachweis im Modul "Englisch (Niveaustufe Europarat C1) oder zweite Fremdsprache (Niveaustufe Europarat B2)" im Studiengang Internationale Betriebs­wirt­schafts­lehre (Bachelor) gilt als erbracht, wenn während des Studien­aufenthalts im Ausland Module im Umfang von mindestens 18 Credits in der entsprechenden Fremd­sprache erbracht und nachgewiesen werden.

  • Der Nachweis im Modul "Fremdsprache (Niveaustufe Europarat B2)" im Studiengang International Business Administration (Bachelor) gilt als erbracht, wenn während des Studien­aufenthalts im Ausland Module im Umfang von mindestens 18 Credits in der entsprechenden Fremd­sprache erbracht und nachgewiesen werden.

  • Im Rahmen von Doppel- und Mehrfach­abkommen können abweichende Regelungen in Bezug auf die Anerkennung gelten.

Verfahrensweise

Studierende sollen Kurse, die sie an einer ausländischen Hochschule belegen möchten, mit der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten und dem zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss absprechen, um die Möglich­keit der Anerkennung dieser im Vorfeld des Auslandsaufenthalts abzuklären.

Über eventuelle Änderungen der Modulwahl während des Auslands­aufenthaltes ist Rücksprache zu halten.

Nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt ist abschließend ein Antrag auf Aner­kennung bei der Abteilung für Internationale Angelegenheiten zu stellen.

Weitere Informationen zur Verfahrensweise (Sprechzeiten, Formulare, etc.) ...