Banner Viadrina

International Business Administration

Master thesis with final colloquium

Exam number: 9001

Semester: from 4th semester onwards

Duration of the module: 16 weeks

Form of the module (i.e. obligatory, elective etc.): Mandatory

Frequency of module offer: Every semester

Prerequisites:
SSO 2017: In order to be admitted to the final thesis, students must have successfully completed creditable study and examination achievements in the amount of, as a rule, at least 75 percent of the ECTS credits required for the successful completion of the programme as a whole, minus the credit points for the final thesis and for the colloquium. This corresponds to 72 ECTS credits.
FSO 2013: A prerequisite for admission to the final thesis is that students must be able to prove credit worthy of credit for studies and examinations in the amount of at least 80 ECTS credits required for the successful completion of the programme.
The students choose a first examiner for their master thesis from among the university teachers of the Faculty of Business and Economics. If students do not find an initial reviewers, they will be assigned a first reviewers by the chairperson of the relevant examination board.
Please note that the individual professorships may also have additional requirements for a supervision confirmation. You can only be supervised at these chairs if you meet these requirements. Therefore, please inform yourself in advance on the internet pages of the individual chairs.

Applicability of module for other study programmes:
Obligatory or elective in other study programmes. For further information check regulations of the study programme.

Person responsible for module: All professors of the faculty

Name of the professor: All professors of the faculty

Language of teaching: German or English

ECTS-Credits (based on the workload): 24

Workload and its composition (self-study, contact time):
Master thesis (21 ECTS-Credits): Self study: 630 hours; Final colloquium (3 ECTS-Credits): Selbststudium: 90 hours

Contact hours (per week in semester): 0

Methods and duration of examination:
Evaluation of the written work by two reviewers. The Master's thesis must first be submitted to the examination office in two bound copies and an electronic version within the deadline. The master's thesis must be written with a computer word processing program in print and be provided with a title page. The literature and other resources used must be provided in full. Places taken literally or in accordance with the literature shall be identified by stating the source. The electronic version must be verifiable for plagiarism. The time of handing in is kept on file. When submitting the Master's thesis, students must ensure in writing that they have written their thesis independently and that they have not used any other sources and aids than those indicated, and that they have not submitted the thesis to any other examination authority, either so far or at the same time.
If the Master's thesis has been passed, a public final colloquium will take place as an oral examination in which the student, the supervisor of the Master's thesis and a second examiner will take part. In this colloquium, the student has to present the results of his or her work, classify them in a larger context and defend them against critical objections. The colloquium lasts about 25 minutes.

Emphasis of the grade for the final grade: Regeln die Bestimmungen des entsprechenden Studiengangs

Aim of the module (expected learning outcomes and competencies to be acquired):
In the Master's thesis, the student shall prove that he/she is capable of independently applying economic methods, of intellectual penetration of the scientific literature as well as of writing texts that meet the scientific requirements.

Contents of the module:
The Master's thesis deals with a scientific question from an industry or function-specific area of business administration or economics. It can also include a practice-oriented application project.

Teaching and learning methods:
Own empirical or deductive scientific work

Literature (compulsory reading, recommended literature):
Individual case dependent

Further information:
The supervision of the master thesis must be requested centrally via this form from the responsible examination board. Please note the deadlines!
In order to be allowed to write the Master's thesis, you must be admitted to the Master's thesis. For this purpose, the application for admission to the Master's thesis must be submitted to the Examination Office (not to the examination board).
After successful admission the master thesis will be registered. The subject of the Master's thesis is determined by the first examiner. Subject matter, first reviewers, as well as second reviewers and the time of the issue assignment will be made known to the Examination Office upon registration of the master's thesis. The processing time begins on the day of issue assignment by the initial reviewers. Please note that it is not possible to derive any right from the General Study and Examination Regulations (ASPO) in conjunction with the Subject-Specific Regulations (SSO) or the Subject-specific Regulations (FSO) to prepare the Master's thesis for a particular first examiner.
If you fall ill during the completion of your Master's thesis and you are considerably impaired in your ability as a result of the illness, you have the possibility to apply for an extension of the processing time of the Master's thesis at the responsible examination board.

Banner Viadrina

International Business Administration

Masterarbeit mit Abschlusskolloquium

Modulbezeichnung in Englisch: Master Thesis

Prüfungsnummer: 9001

Semester: i.d.R. ab 4. Semester

Dauer des Moduls: 16 Wochen

Art des Moduls (Pflicht, Wahl, etc.): Pflicht

Häufigkeit des Angebots des Moduls: Jedes Semester

Zugangsvoraussetzungen: Studiengangsspezifische Ordnung: Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Abschlussarbeit ist, dass die Studierenden anrechenbare Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen im Umfang von in der Regel mindestens 75 Prozent der für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Studiengangs insgesamt erforderlichen ECTS-Credits abzüglich der Leistungspunkte für die Abschlussarbeit und für das Kolloquium erfolgreich absolviert haben. Dies entspricht 72 ECTS-Credits.
Fachspezifische Ordnung: Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zur Abschlussarbeit ist, dass die Studierenden anrechenbare Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen im Umfang von mindestens 80 ECTS-Credits der für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Studiengangs insgesamt erforderlichen ECTS-Credits nachweisen können.
Die Studierenden suchen sich unter den Hochschullehrern und Hochschullehrerinnen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät einen Erstgutachter oder eine Erstgutachterin für die Bachelorarbeit aus. Finden die Studierenden keinen Erstgutachter oder keine Erstgutachterin, so bekommen sie durch den oder die Vorsitzende des zuständigen Prüfungsausschusses einen Erstgutachter oder eine Erstgutachterin zugewiesen.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass die einzelnen Lehrstühle darüber hinaus noch weitere Anforderungen für eine Betreuungszusage stellen können. Nur wenn Sie diese Anforderungen erfüllen, können Sie an diesen Lehrstühlen betreut werden. Bitte informieren Sie sich daher rechtzeitig auf den Internetseiten der einzelnen Lehrstühle.

Verwendbarkeit des Moduls für andere Studiengänge:
Pflicht- bzw. Wahlmodul für andere Studiengänge. Das Nähere regeln die Bestimmungen des entsprechenden Studiengangs.

Modulverantwortlicher/Modulverantwortliche: Alle Hochschullehrer_innen der Fakultät

Name der/des Hochschullehrer/s: Alle Hochschullehrer_innen der Fakultät

Lehrsprache: Deutsch oder Englisch

Zahl der zugeteilten ECTS-Credits: 24

Gesamtworkload und ihre Zusammensetzung (z.B. Selbststudium + Kontaktzeit):
Masterarbeit (21 ECTS-Credits): Selbststudium: 630 Std.; Abschlusskolloquium (3 ECTS-Credits): Selbststudium: 90 Std.

Lehrveranstaltungsstunden (LVS): 0

Art der Prüfung/ Voraussetzung für die Vergabe von Leistungspunkten:
Bewertung der schriftlichen Arbeit durch zwei Gutachter/innen. Die Masterarbeit ist zuvor beim Prüfungsamt fristgerecht in zwei gebundenen Exemplaren und einer elektronischen Version abzuliefern. Die Masterarbeit muss mit einem Computer-Textverarbeitungsprogramm in Druckschrift erstellt und mit einem Titelblatt versehen sein. Die benutzte Literatur sowie sonstige Hilfsquellen sind vollständig anzugeben. Wörtlich oder dem Sinne nach dem Schrifttum entnommene Stellen sind unter Angabe der Quelle kenntlich zu machen. Die elektronische Version muss auf Plagiat überprüfbar sein. Der Abgabezeitpunkt wird aktenkundig gemacht. Bei der Abgabe der Masterarbeit haben die Studierenden in schriftlicher Form zu versichern, dass sie ihre Arbeit selbstständig verfasst und keine anderen als die angegebenen Quellen und Hilfsmittel benutzt und die Arbeit bisher oder gleichzeitig keiner anderen Prüfungsbehörde vorgelegt haben.
Ist die Masterarbeit bestanden, findet ein öffentliches Abschlusskolloquium als mündliche Prüfung statt, an dem der oder die Studierende, der Betreuer oder die Betreuerin der Masterarbeit sowie ein zweiter Prüfer oder eine zweite Prüferin teilnehmen. In diesem Kolloquium hat der oder die Studierende die Ergebnisse seiner oder ihrer Arbeit zu präsentieren, in einen größeren Zusammenhang einzuordnen und gegen kritische Einwände zu verteidigen. Die Dauer des Kolloquiums beträgt ca. 25 Minuten.

Gewichtung der Note in der Gesamtnote: Regeln die Bestimmungen des entsprechenden Studiengangs

Qualifikationsziele des Moduls:
In der Masterarbeit soll der Studierende nachweisen, dass er zur eigenständigen Anwendung wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Methoden, zur geistigen Durchdringung der wissenschaftlichen Literatur sowie zur Abfassung wissenschaftlichen Anforderungen genügender Texte in der Lage ist.

Inhalte des Moduls:
Die Masterarbeit behandelt eine wissenschaftliche Fragestellung aus einem wirtschaftszweig- oder funktionsspezifischen Bereich der BWL bzw. VWL. Sie kann darüber hinaus ein praxisorientiertes Anwendungsprojekt beinhalten.

Lehr- und Lernmethoden des Moduls:
Eigene empirische oder deduktive wissenschaftliche Arbeit

Literatur (Pflichtlektüre/zusätzlich empfohlene Literatur):
Einzelfallabhängig

Weitere Informationen:
Die Betreuung der Masterarbeit muss zentral über dieses Formular beim zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss beantragt werden. Bitte beachten Sie die Fristen!
Um die Masterarbeit schreiben zu dürfen, bedarf es der Zulassung zur Masterarbeit. Hierfür ist der vollständig ausgefüllte Antrag auf Zulassung zur Masterarbeit beim Prüfungsamt (nicht beim Prüfungsausschuss) abzugeben.
Nach erfolgter Zulassung wird die Masterarbeit angemeldet. Hierzu legt der Erstgutachter oder die Erstgutachterin das Thema der Masterarbeit fest. Thema, Erstgutachter oder Erstgutachterin sowie Zweitgutachter oder Zweitgutachterin und der Zeitpunkt der Themenvergabe werden mit der Anmeldung der Masterarbeit gegenüber dem Prüfungsamt aktenkundig gemacht. Die Bearbeitungszeit beginnt am Tag der Themenvergabe durch den Erstgutachter oder die Erstgutachterin. Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich aus der Allgemeinen Studien- und Prüfungsordnung (ASPO)  i.V.m. der Studiengangsspezifischen Ordnung (SSO) bzw. der Fachspezifischen Ordnung (FSO) kein Anspruch ableiten lässt, bei einem bestimmten Erstgutachter oder einer bestimmten Erstgutachterin die Masterarbeit anzufertigen.
Werden Sie während der Anfertigung Ihrer Masterarbeit krank und Sie sind in Folge der Erkrankung erheblich in Ihrem Leistungsvermögen beeinträchtigt, haben Sie die Möglichkeit eine Verlängerung der Bearbeitungszeit der Masterarbeit beim zuständigen Prüfungsausschuss zu beantragen.