Banner Viadrina

World Finance & Banking Symposium

B|ORDERS in Motion: The sky is no limit

That borders are in motion also in China Professor Georg Stadtmann could witness first hand on the occasion of a conference participation in Shanghai. If you are standing at the waterside promenade of Pudong, there is the old building of the former British district behind you. The old clock in the toll building gives a stroke of the bell every quarter of an hour that is not inferior to Big Ben. According to a legend this stroke of the bell protects the city from the fires: The superstitious Chinese believe that the fire god spares the city because he mistakes the constant tinkling for fire alarm and thus preserves the city from further disaster.

On the other side new buildings of the financial center rising into the sky – the new palaces of power. Overall, Shanghai shows itself very arranged, less chaotic and very efficient. Between the international airport and the city there is a maglev train so that you can get a feeling of how 430 km/h feel. With 50 Yuan (ca. 7 Euro) the ride is, however, much more expensive than with the metro (7 Yuan), but also much faster! The metro is also functioning properly, all mopeds are already converted to electric motors and are not polluting the air of the city anymore. A considerable disadvantage of the electric motors is that they are functioning practically soundless so that the mopeds recently carry the epithet „silent death“.

At the World Finance & Banking Symposium you could then meet highly educated Chinese from the USA who used the X-Mas Brake and the conference for a visit in the old homeland. Georg Stadtmann would like to thank the DAAD for the financial support of the congress trip.

Shanghai_02_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_04_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_01_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_03_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Banner Viadrina

World Finance & Banking Symposium

B|ORDERS in Motion: The sky is no limit

Dass auch in China die Grenzen in Bewegung sind, davon konnte sich Viadrina Professor Georg Stadtmann anlässlich einer Konferenzteilnahme in Shanghai überzeugen. Steht man an der Uferpromenade des Pudongs, so hat man im Rücken die alten Gebäude des ehemaligen britischen Bezirks. Die alte Uhr im Zollgebäude gibt jede Viertelstunde einen Glockenschlag ab, der dem Big Ben in Nichts nachsteht. Einer Sage nach soll dieser Glockenschlag die Stadt vor Bränden schützen: Die abergläubischen Chinesen denken, dass der Feuergott die Stadt verschone, weil er das ständige Gebimmel als Feueralarm missverstehe und nun die Stadt vor weiterem Unheil bewahre.

Auf der anderen Seite ragen dann die neuen Gebäude des Finanzzentrums in den Himmel – die neuen Paläste der Macht. Insgesamt zeigt sich Shanghai sehr geordnet, wenig chaotisch und sehr effizient. Zwischen dem internationalen Airport und der Stadt verkehrt eine Magnetschwebebahn, so dass man ein Gefühl dafür bekommen kann, wie sich 430 km/h anfühlen. Mit 50 Yuan (ca. 7 Euro) ist die Fahrt dann jedoch um einiges teurer als mit der Metro (7 Yuan), dafür aber auch deutlich schneller! Die Metro funktioniert jedoch auch einwandfrei, alle Mofas sind bereits auf Elektromotor umgerüstet und verpesten nicht mehr die Luft der Stadt. Ein wesentlicher Nachteil der Elektrogetriebe besteht darin, dass sie praktisch geräuschlos funktionieren, so dass die Mofas neuerdings den Beinamen „Stiller Tod“ tragen.

Auf dem World Finance & Banking Symposium traf man dann auf gut ausgebildete Chinesen aus den USA, die den X-Mas Brake und die Konferenz zu einem Besuch in der alten Heimat nutzen. Georg Stadtmann bedankt sich für die finanzielle Förderung der Kongressreise durch den DAAD.

Shanghai_02_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_04_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_01_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann

Shanghai_03_scaled_600 ©Prof. Georg Stadtmann