Banner Viadrina

Real Estate Economics Workshop 2013

At the site of the coal-mine Zollverein 30 years ago the coal was mined. Today, this site is a UNESCO world heritage. It is used as an event site as well as a museum. Instead of polluted air you can breathe clean air - the Ruhr area is nowadays the most green metropolitan region in Germany. The structural change happens here live and also the Real Estate Economics Workshop took place here on 12th and 13th of September 2013.

In this setting there were exciting discussions about the structural change, the real estate markets and the valuation of real estate: Which real estate funds are profitable? Why is there a real estate vacancy at all? How does the sustainable building and the building of public goods affect the value of a real estate? Does the consent for climate protection measures change if the structure of the city changes?  Interesting questions, interesting answers. The program was rounded off by an excursion inthe coal-mine Zollverein and with Currywurst and Fine Dining à la Ruhrpott. Only the swimming pool was not in use, contrary to expectations..

This workshop is a continuation of the Real Estate Workshop in Hamburg (2011) and in Berlin (2012). The event was organized and carried out in cooperation with  the University Duisburg-Essen, the Helmut-Schmidt-University in Hamburg and – of course – the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder). Special thanks also go to the Fritz Thyssen Foundation.

BildZZ ©Georg Stadtmann

BildPraes ©Georg Stadtmann

Banner Viadrina

Immobilienökonomie Workshop 2013

Auf dem Gelände der Zeche Zollverein in Essen wurde vor 30 Jahren noch Kohle abgebaut. Heute ist das Gelände Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Es wird als Veranstaltungsgelände und als Museum genutzt. Anstatt verschmutzter Luft atmet man heute saubere Luft – das Ruhrgebiet ist heute die grünste Metropolregion Deutschlands. Hier findet der Strukturwandel live statt und hier fand am 12. und 13. September 2013 der Workshop Immobilienökonomie statt.

Vor dieser Kulisse wurde angeregt über den Strukturwandel, die Immobilienmärke und der Bewertung von Immobilien diskutiert: Welche Immobilienfonds lohnen sich? Warum gibt es überhaupt einen Immobilienleerstand? Wie beeinflusst nachhaltiges Bauen oder der Bau öffentlicher Güter den Wert einer Immobilie? Ändert sich die Zustimmung für Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, wenn sich die Struktur (Silhouette) einer Stadt ändert? Interessante Fragen, interessante Antworten. Abgerundet wurde das Programm mit einer Besichtigung der Zeche Zollverein und mit Currywurst und Fine Dining à la Ruhrpott. Nur der Swimming-Pool auf dem Gelände wurde wider Erwarten nicht genutzt.

Dieser Workshop ist die Fortsetzung der Real Estate Workshops in Hamburg (2011) und in Berlin (2012). Die Veranstaltung wurde in Kooperation mit der Universität Duisburg-Essen, der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität in Hamburg und – natürlich – der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) organisiert und durchgeführt. Ein besonderer Dank gilt auch der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung.

BildZZ ©Georg Stadtmann

BildPraes ©Georg Stadtmann