Banner Viadrina

Guest lecture Dr. Bernhard Heitzer

People who cut corners will never arrive at home

State Secretary Dr. Bernhard Heitzer puts his guest lecture at the Viadrina under this motto. Dr. Heitzer gladly accepted the invitation of Viadrina professor Georg Stadtmann and met the Frankfurter student body in the fully occupied Audimax. Right at the start he promoted a continuation of the consolidation course in Europe even if it involves a lot of hardships and restraints for many people at the moment.

As the cause of the Euro crisis Heitzer states a permanent violation of the Maastricht deficit criterion, even Germany and France took hand in hand a stance against a deficit procedure. Furthermore, a homogenous monetary policy in Europe leads to low interest rates, so that wrong incentives were set and a misallocation of resources occurred. For example, the investments in the Spain real estate sector can be mentioned in this context. The confidence crisis in the sustainability and the actionability of the Euro states can only be solved by further consolidation. For example, debt caps should be anchored in national constitutions and an improvement of the supervision of macroeconomic developments should take place.

First visible successes of the consolidation process can be seen in the decrease of the current account deficits of Ireland and Portugal and a significant reduction of unit labor costs in Ireland and Portugal. This path should also be continued in the future. A joint liability for public debt in the form of Eurobonds was, however, clearly rejected because this measure would only lead to further wrong incentives. The future of Europe depends – as it was already emphasized by Walter Eucken, the founder of the Freiburger Ordoliberal School – on the following set of framework conditions: Stable money, private property, principles of liability and constancy in the economic policy. The administered medicine would take effect in the end therefore the therapy should not be interrupted prematurely, otherwise the public will only get to know the negative sides of the consolidation without benefiting from the positive effects in the future.

 

Heitzer_1_600 ©Bild Heitzer 1 VA

Heitzer_2_600 ©Bild Heitzer 2

Heitzer_3_600 ©Bild Heitzer 3

Banner Viadrina

Gastvortrag Dr. Bernhard Heitzer

Wer den Weg abkürzt, der kommt nie zu Hause an

Unter dieses Motto stellt Staatssekretär Dr. Bernhard Heitzer seine Gastvorlesung an der Europa Universität. Gerne war Herr Heitzer der Einladung von Viadrina Professor Georg Stadtmann gefolgt und traf in einem voll besetzten Audimax auf die Frankfurter Studierendenschaft. Gleich zu Beginn warb er für eine Beibehaltung des eingeschlagenen Konsolidierungskurses in Europa, auch wenn er für Viele zurzeit mit großen Härten und Einschnitten verbunden sei.

Als Ursache für die Eurokrise machte Heitzer u. a. eine permanente Verletzung des Maastricht-Defizit Kriteriums aus, auch Deutschland und Frankreich stemmten sich Hand in Hand gegen ein Defizitverfahren. Ferner führt die einheitliche Geldpolitik in Europa zu sehr niedrigen Zinssätzen, so das falsche Anreizsignale gesetzt wurden und eine Fehlallokation von Ressourcen erfolgte. Beispielhaft seien hier die Investitionen im spanischen Immobiliensektor erwähnt. Die Vertrauenskrise in die Zukunfts- und Handlungsfähigkeit der Euro-Staaten könne nur durch eine weitere Konsolidierung gelöst werden. Es sollen z. B. Schuldenbremsen in den nationalen Verfassungen verankert werden und eine Verbesserung der Überwachung makroökonomischer Entwicklungen erfolgen.

Erste sichtbare Erfolge des Konsolidierungsprozesses seien in der Verringerung der Leistungsbilanzdefizite Irlands und Portugals und einer signifikanten Reduktion der Lohnstückkosten in Irland und Portugal zu sehen. Dieser Weg sollte auch zukünftig weiter beschritten werden. Einer gemeinsamen Haftung für Staatsschulden in Form von Eurobonds wurde hingegen eine klare Absage erteilt, weil diese Maßnahme nur weitere Fehlanreize erzeugen würde. Die Zukunft von Europa hängt – wie bereits Walter Eucken, der Begründer der Freiburger Ordoliberalen Schule betonte – am folgenden Kranz von Rahmenbedingungen: Stabiles Geld, Privateigentum, Haftungsprinzipien und einer Konstanz in der Wirtschaftspolitik. Die verabreichte Medizin würde schon wirken, man sollte daher die Therapie nicht vorzeitig abbrechen, sonst würde die Bevölkerung nur die negativen Seiten der Konsolidierung kennengelernt haben, ohne von den positiven Effekten zukünftig profitieren zu können.

Heitzer_1_600 ©Bild Heitzer 1 VA

Heitzer_2_600 ©Bild Heitzer 2

Heitzer_3_600 ©Bild Heitzer 3